Milk magazine favorites

I buy the magazine MilK decoration every time it’s out. Meaning every 3 months. Meaning I spend more time waiting than reading. But it’s worth it, because it’s my favorite magazine so far.
MilK Decoration is a “high-end” magazine, whose mission is to inspire young contemporary families, urban, cosmopolitan and connected in terms of style and decoration. An intimate look at the lifestyle of the tribes of today.

I like that they portray the families who live among the decoration and interior scenes that are shown. Of course, those families are mostly composed of artists/designers/architects and cute kids, wearing cool clothes, but the whole portrait is delightful. Once you’ve done reading Milk Decoration, you want to be part of those families, or even build your own following their example. (whew, I happen to be an architect, that’s something already!) That’s not less interesting than wanting to be like Cara Delevingne while reading Cosmopolitan. (No judgement, that just didn’t work on me).

So, in case you don’t know this magazine yet, let me share with you a selection of my favorite homes and families from some of the previous editions.


Fons Cohen, owner and founder of the brand Imps & Elfs (fashion for kids), his wife Katja and their three daughters moved into a former church in the south of Amsterdam.

former nave of the church

I like the cozy atmosphere created by bricks and wood in the former nave of the church.

I miss my Playmobils sometimes

And I miss my Playmobil sometimes. I wish I thought of a cool way to display them when I was a kid. Maybe it’s not too late.

The cute kids. And wooden wall.

The cute kids. And wooden wall.


Jo and Graham Atkins-Hughes posed their bags into their new home in London at the end of spring 2001. Jo is a stylist and Graham a photographer. (Exception in Milk: they don’t have kids. Yet.) They were accompanied during renovation by Stan and David, a formidable duo from artisans from Essex consisting of a father and his son.

Pretty yellow flowers

It could be a lamp. Bright yellow flowers.

Dark grey, dark green, dark blue

Dark colors make you feel warmer. The ceiling light seems oyster inspired.

Eucalyptus my favorite

Eucalyptus my favorite. I like the neutral color and the geometry of the leaves.


Melanie, creator of Simple Kids, and her three daughters. She walked past that house dozens of times before seeing a sign “For Sale”. She was quick to visit and discovered that the original features were retained.

anvers-5

I like the pillows a lot, and the matching lamp and flowers. I'm sure it tastes like redberries.

I like the pillows a lot, and the matching lamp and flowers. I’m sure it tastes like redberries.

anvers-59-3

My soft toys took over my parents' attic. They are too big to quietly stand on a shelf.

My soft toys took over my parents’ attic. They are too big to quietly stand on a shelf.


Co-founder of Serendipity, Elisa Bartillat has launched a challenge: to rehabilitate and completely redecorate a little austere castle of the nineteenth century, located in Normandy.

Gold to dress up a mix of patterns.

Gold to dress up a mix of patterns.

It reminds me of the kids' room in Mary Poppins. The 1964's movie, with Julie Andrews.

It reminds me of the kids’ room in Mary Poppins. The 1964’s movie, with Julie Andrews.

A less common picture of Audrey Hepburn. I'm more willing to take care of myself when it gets colder outside, in the warmth of the bathroom.

A less common picture of Audrey Hepburn. I’m more willing to take care of myself when it gets colder outside, in the warmth of the bathroom.


Stewart and Jane Devlin left England for the East Coast of the United States nine years ago. She, british, works at Gap, where she is creative director of the brands BabyGap and InfantGap. He, originally from Northern Ireland, runs a graphic design agency. Tilly, six, is the cute girl.
Hudson_Milk_001

Delicate botanical patterned wallpapers are my thing.

Delicate botanical patterned wallpapers are my thing.

Hunter boots and leather bags.

Hunter boots and leather bags.

I have to admit I kind of like the ceiling light, and the shadows. Is it creepy that it's made of horns...?

I have to admit I kind of like the ceiling light, and the shadows. Maybe it’s not made of real horns.


Muriel Bardinet is interior designer and creator of Dune 234 antique store in Brussels. She excels in creating poetic and serene atmospheres and loves above all harmonious or contrasting combinations of objects. The house, located in Ixelles district in the Belgian capital, was formally an orphanage, and a Japanese restaurant.

The areas of the first and ground floors were made of concrete covered with sand color Mortex, thus connecting with the original cement tiles,  found under the restaurant's pine flooring.

The areas of the first and ground floors were made of concrete covered with sand color Mortex, thus connecting with the original cement tiles, found under the restaurant’s pine flooring.

brussels_img_1415

Starry ceiling in Lou's bedroom.

Starry ceiling in Lou’s bedroom.

brussels_mg_0632


In facts, MilK is 3 magazines:
MilK Kid’s collection offers a modern journey into the world of childhood.
MilK Japan is the special edition for Japan, also picturing childhood.
MilK Decoration, that you just heard of.

If you want to see more cute kids, families and interiors, I suggest you check http://www.milkmagazine.net

Leave a Reply

